BPL draft: Tamim Iqbal to team up with coach Mohammad Salahuddin for Dhaka

0 62

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Tamim Iqbal will once again work with coach Mohammad Salahuddin in this season’s Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), this time for the Dhaka Platoon team – the pair had played key roles in Comilla Victorians’ triumph last season.


Feeding the poor and needy is an act that draws us closer to Allah. We earn His forgiveness, mercies and blessings through this act of charity.

“Anyone who looks after and works for a widow and a poor person is like a warrior fighting for Allah?s cause, or like a person who fasts during the day and prays all night. (Bukhari)

Tamim was the first pick in the draft on Sunday, and the Dhaka side later picked Mashrafe Mortaza too, a second A-plus category player.

Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah, the two other A-plus local players, went to Khulna Tigers and Chattogram Challengers respectively. Rangpur Rangers took Mustafizur Rahman, while Rajshahi Royals got Liton Das. Cumilla Warriors – the name the franchise will go by this season, following the official change in the city’s name last year – also signed Soumya Sarkar and Sylhet picked Mohammad Mithun from the locals’ A category.

Among the overseas players, last season’s highest scorer in the BPL, Rilee Rossouw, was picked by Khulna while Chattogram picked up Chris Gayle. Rangpur took Afghanistan allrounder Mohammad Nabi and West Indies batsman Shai Hope, Sylhet took the big-hitting Sherfane Rutherford, and Rajshahi picked Afghanistan opener Hazratullah Zazai. Sri Lanka big-hitter Kusal Perera and England’s Dawid Malan, who was in red-hot form in the recently concluded T20I series against New Zealand, went to Cumilla.

There are some new faces among the coaches too: Ottis Gibson (Cumilla), Grant Flower (Rangpur), Kabir Ali (Chattogram) and Owais Shah (Rajshahi), while Khaled Mahmud is likely to be with the Khulna side.

No captains have been named yet for the squads.

Full squads

Chattogram Challengers: Mahmudullah, Imrul Kayes, Nasir Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Chris Gayle, Kesrick Williams, Nurul Hasan, Enamul Haque, Muktar Ali, Pinak Ghosh, Avishka Fernando, Rayad Emrit, Nasum Ahmed, Junaid Siddique, Ryan Burl, Imad Wasim

Cumilla Warriors: Soumya Sarkar, Al-Amin Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Yasir Ali, Kusal Perera, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sunzamul Islam, Abu Hider, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Sumon Khan, Dawid Malan, Dasun Shanaka, Fardeen Hasan Ony

Dhaka Platoon: Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Hasan Mahmud, Mahedi Hasan, Thisara Perera, Laurie Evans, Ariful Haque, Mominul Haque, Shuvagata Hom, Mashrafe Mortaza, Wahab Riaz, Asif Ali, Raqibul Hasan, Jaker Ali, Shahid Afridi, Luis Reece

Khulna Tigers: Mushfiqur Rahim, Shafiul Islam, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Aminul Islam, Rilee Rossouw, Robert Frylinck, Shamsur Rahman, Saif Hassan, Mehidy Hasan, Shahidul Islam, Mohammad Amir, Najibullah Zadran, Tanvir Islam, Aliss Islam, Rahmanullah Gurbaz

Rajshahi Royals: Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Abu Jayed, Farhad Reza, Ravi Bopara, Hazratullah Zazai, Taijul Islam, Alok Kapali, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Irfan Sukkur, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Irfan, Minhajul Abedin Afridi, Nahidul Islam

Rangpur Rangers: Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Naim, Arafat Sunny, Jahurul Islam, Mohammad Nabi, Shai Hope, Taskin Ahmed, Zakir Hasan, Fazle Mahmud, Nadif Chowdhury, Rishad Hossain, Lewis Gregory, Cameron Delport, Sanjit Saha

Sylhet Thunders: Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Nazmul Islam, Sohag Gazi, Sherfane Rutherford, Shafiqullah, Rony Talukdar, Nayeem Hasan, Delwar Hossain, Monir Hossain, Johnson Charles, Naveen-ul-Haq, Ruyel Miah, Jeevan Mendis


Read Original Report Here

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy