What is halal food?

1 182

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

During the month of Ramadan, for 30 days, Muslims who prefer to fast will not eat or drink during the daytime. At night, when they break the fast, many people choose only those foods that are considered acceptable under Islamic law. The Arabic word for such food is halal.

The halal food industry in the United States is expanding rapidly. The growing Muslim population, along with young non-Muslim consumers who consume these products for non-religious reasons, brought total sales to a whopping $ 20 billion in 2016, which is 15 percent more than in 2012.


Feeding the poor and needy is an act that draws us closer to Allah. We earn His forgiveness, mercies and blessings through this act of charity.

“Anyone who looks after and works for a widow and a poor person is like a warrior fighting for Allah?s cause, or like a person who fasts during the day and prays all night. (Bukhari)

To clarify, most foods fall under the category of Halal for Muslims. However, according to Islamic law, the following is not considered acceptable: blood, alcohol and other intoxicants, pork, meat of carnivorous animals such as wolves or coyotes, birds of prey such as vultures, amphibians, snakes and animals living on land and in water. like a frog. Meat and poultry are considered to be halal only if the animals are conscious, when they are slaughtered and bleed before they die.

To determine which foods are Halal, Islamic jurisprudence relies on three religious sources: excerpts from the Quran, sayings and customs of the Prophet Mohammed, which were recorded by his followers and called “hadiths” and the decisions of recognized religious scholars.

One verse in the Qur’an says: “He [Allah] forbade you only dead animals, blood, meat of pigs, and that which was not dedicated to Allah.”

In this verse of the Qur’an, it is simply said that animals are not suitable for consumption if they are slaughtered in the name of other deities other than Allah, but jurists also decided that animals should be slaughtered in the name of Allah and a faithful Muslim. jurists, however, do not always agree. For example, most jurists ruled that shellfish are halal. Others disagree.

READ MORE: How To Welcome New Child In Islam

Although no federal laws regulate the use of the “halal label” on food, states such as California, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey and Texas restrict the use of this label to products that comply with Islamic religious requirements. Various private Muslim organizations also control the production and certification of halal products.

Ramadan is the time allotted for the celebration and reflection on the relationship with Allah. For many Muslims, this includes adherence to Islamic laws, ensuring that halal products are expected at the end of each fasting day.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
1 Comment
  1. oprolevorter says

    I precisely wanted to thank you so much yet again. I am not sure the things I could possibly have carried out without those secrets revealed by you about this concern. It was actually the traumatic concern in my view, however , understanding your expert tactic you processed it took me to weep for contentment. I am just happier for the guidance and then pray you realize what a great job you’re providing instructing people via a blog. I am sure you haven’t met any of us.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy